Dear Moses,

I haven’t formally addressed you yet and I apologize for that. With your constant kicking, punching, moving and forcing me to pee every 15 minutes, you’d think I wouldn’t stop thinking about you.

Well that part is true.

I haven’t stopped thinking about you since Nov. 10, 2012, when those two pink lines appeared on the pregnancy test that I took at 3:30 a.m. the morning of your daddy’s first half marathon. I sat and watched the two lines appear almost immediately and placed the test on the sink counter. I wanted to surprise daddy when he woke up a few hours later and saw the results for himself.

That seems like so long ago and now here I sit, waiting for your arrival. It could be any day now. The doctor thought today might have been the day, three weeks early, but you surprised us and the fluid surrounding you increased to a normal level. So your birthday hasn’t been planned right now and I’m sure you already have a plan in mind of the date you wish. And your heart rate jumped up to 168. It surprised me too, even though that’s the range your brother’s remained throughout, because yours was always around 140.

I have a feeling that those are only the beginning of surprises that you are going to have when you make your grand appearance. Right now, I’m told you are little. Five pounds based on the ultrasound. Tiny and strong. I can see it now. Your big brother was only 6 pounds 9 ounces when he joined our family but he let his independence be known early on that he was much stronger and resilient than he first appeared.

Your big brother Peyton has been playing with all your baby toys and testing out your crib mattress on a daily basis to make sure it’s good enough for you. Don’t worry it’s perfect for jumping up and down.

I don’t know what the future holds as we become a family of four but I have a feeling it will be filled with surprises. First being if you are a boy or a girl. Either way you are loved so much already. Right now, three weeks from the due date, mommy and daddy don’t have a name for you if you are boy. We are working on it but we can’t agree on what will fit you perfectly.

Don’t worry, Moses is not in the running.

I love you so much already and so does daddy and your sweet and funny big brother Peyton!

DSC_0833

Sincerely,

Mommy

Leave a Reply

