Dear beige colored sedan,

I know you couldn’t tell the driver to your right was nine months-plus pregnant, actually 38 weeks, 6 days to be exact. I know you couldn’t tell that my increasing belly is uncomfortable with the seat belt pressed against it. I know you couldn’t tell that I was having a stressful afternoon at my job and stressing that this baby was going to make an appearance while his/her daddy was away on business for the night. I know you couldn’t tell any of this or hear my horn because you didn’t see that four-door white car, driven by the blonde at 5 p.m. on interstate 95 at all!

Last nights commute home was the scariest that I’ve ever experienced thanks to you. And thanks to you for not stopping. I saw you put on your brakes when I landed against the guard rail but then keep going. I only saw you long enough to give a vague vehicle description to the insurance company.

I’m just thankful there was no car immediately to my right as I flew out of control into that lane and back while trying to make my way to the right hand side of the road. I’m thankful it was just me in the car (well plus Moses in utero) and I hadn’t picked up Peyton yet. I’m thankful the damage on the surface isn’t that bad. The impact to the guard rail alone seemed much more jarring and well as the emotional shake up afterwards to me.

But a few deep breaths to keep Moses in tact and a relaxing evening with cartoons and Peyton helped ease my mind. He was especially loving to his sore mamma.

And wouldn’t you know Moses stayed in tact overnight and hubs will be back in the same zip code in just a few hours. One crisis averted.

I know one thing is for sure though. If a car accident won’t send Moses heading for the exit, I’m not sure what will. I’m thinking I have a very stubborn little person in there waiting to test my limits for the next 20 plus years.

After further inspection of my car this morning, you did hit me and I wasn’t going crazy how my car just instantly became out of control by my own account. I did learn how to drive¬† during an upstate NY winter and know how to get off of ice safety, thankyouverymuch! I hope you have some white marks from my car as well to remember me.

If I do go into labor today or tomorrow, this will be the story to tell Moses. Peyton already has a story how the earth literally shook upon his arrival. I guess his brother or sister wants something similar.

Sincerely (and sore),

Kelli

Leave a Reply

