Dear Mallory Carrington,

Well, well, well! You have officially been a part of our family for exactly two weeks and I still can’t believe it. A little girl. I’m still in disbelief that I have a little girl. And it’s true, my heart has grown tremendously since July 11 at 7:45 a.m.

Yes, that’s right Mallory. You arrived on your own schedule, on your own, on your due date. I had fully anticipated being in labor more than 24 hours and you not arriving until the weekend after I posted about being pregnant for way too long. A few hours after posting I started having some pressure and pains in my lower stomach. I didn’t think anything of it and headed to bed. I was excited for the next day because I was going to sleep in, grandma and grandpa had just arrived from New York to watch Peyton, clean up the house, make sure the hospital bag was packed and then have lunch at one of my favorite deli’s. Then daddy and I were heading to the hospital that night to start your induction. But you had other plans starting at 2:30 a.m.

For the last few weeks of the pregnancy, I’ve been scared that I would wake up in the middle of the night to my water breaking. I was so paranoid that every time I felt like I had to pee I would run to our bathroom to try not to ruin our bed sheets. Because of this I didn’t realize the sporadic pain was contractions not just the urge to pee, even though I did pee every single time i got up. For the next two hours, I was up from bed every 10-15 minutes. After finally timing them, I knew something was happening for real. I really wanted to wait until Peyton woke up at 6:30 a.m. so that I could say goodbye but the pain was coming much quicker and much more intense.

Finally at 4:30 a.m. I decided to wake up daddy. The 10 minute drive to the hospital felt much longer as contractions were now about five minutes a part. I was hurried by wheelchair into a room and I don’t think I could have asked for an epidural any quicker than I did. The nurse reassured me that I was in fact in labor and I was already five centimeters dilated. I was shocked because I hadn’t started to progress on my own at all two days before at my last doctors appointment. And I hadn’t progressed at all without pitocin the first time around with Peyton.

I wanted to make sure I could still get an epidural before it was too late and the nurse indicated that the anesthesiologist was extremely busy and he only had small time frame for me, so short that I had to refrain from peeing one last time, which I can tell you was not fun. But the pain and contractions were so strong at that point that I needed that numbing drug more than relieving myself.

Once it was in, I felt much better and the rest of the labor was easy peazy, Mal. Daddy and I then just hung out in the room and waited until the 7 a.m. shift change. At about 7:20 a.m. my water broke after a single cough and apparently you started to arrive at that point as well. The doctor (not mine because she didn’t make it in time) and the nurse instructed me not to cough or push until the room was set up. Once it was ready, it only took 15 minutes and three pushes before we met you.

At 7:45 a.m. on Thursday, July 11 you arrived weighing just 6 pounds 5 ounces and were 19 inches long. When the doctor told us you were a girl, we didn’t believe it. Your daddy and I were convinced you were a boy and we would be adding another car loving member to our family.

Image

DSC_0913DSC_1008 DSC_0992

DSC_0974

But we loved you immediately and your daddy loved having a girl the minute he looked at you. I have a feeling he’s going to have a hard time letting you go when you get older. Mal, he’s already wrapped around your tiny little fingers. Not only will you have daddy looking out for you but your big brother Peyton. In just 14 days, he absolutely adores his ‘baby sister’ and I have lost count on how many kisses he gives you. He even shares his cars with you and let me tell you, that’s a big deal. We only had one mishap so far with your head and a race car and army truck. I don’t think he meant it but you were tough and I have a feeling that won’t be the only bump you receive because of your big brother.

So Mallory Carrington, after only a short time, you have stolen my heart. I cannot wait to see what you bring to our new family of four.

Image

I love you.

Sincerely,

Mommy

One thought on “Dear Mallory Carrington,

Leave a Reply

