Dear single parents,

I don’t know how you do it, I really don’t. I got my taste of single parenthood for three days with two children and I didn’t like it. It was hard to be the only one all day and all night caring and attending to their every need, boo boo or cry. My three-week-old is up every two to three hours at night so it didn’t give me much time to rest and my rambunctious  (almost) two-year-old is just that. Almost two! He is testing his independence but also still adjusting to have to share my lap with his sister or my attention. If he is in a mood, he doesn’t like that either.

While hubs was out of town for work, I gave in and probably showed a few too many episodes of Little Einsteins while Mal was eating. But it worked and Peyton was happy and distracted for those 30 minutes. Even though I’m with the kids all day alone while hubs is at work, I know that relief is coming when dinner time hits. Even if he’s just watching the kids while I make dinner, change a load of laundry, take a shower or hell even go to the bathroom, it’s worth it. Parents understand that that isn’t even private anymore and most likely Peyton is in there with me.

Also, the companionship after the kids go to bed is something I yearn for. A warm body next to me while I sleep or another set of hands sharing a bowl of popcorn. Parenthood is hard regardless and we do what’s best for our children and make each day work. But going into it with a partner by your side is priceless and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

So to all the single parents out there, you are my heroes. You are probably the strongest and most resilient people and I hope you are using yourself as an example to teach your children. To my friends who are going at it alone, or who have done it in the past, I’m here for you to bring you dinner, change your laundry or watch your kids while you go to the bathroom. I know that quiet, alone time is needed!

Thank you, thank you, thank you! I’m sure you don’t hear it enough that you are doing a great job.

Sincerely,

Kelli

Leave a Reply

